Airport at a Glance

Ownership and Management

The James M. Cox Dayton International Airport (FAA Identifier – DAY) is owned by the City of Dayton, Ohio and operated by its Department of Aviation.  The City of Dayton also owns and operates the general aviation reliever airport, Dayton-Wright Brothers Airport, which is located 12-miles south of the City of Dayton in Miami Township, Ohio along State Route 741.

Airport Infrastructure and Facilities

The Dayton International Airport currently covers an area of approximately 4,500 acres.  The Airport is located 9 miles north of the City of Dayton downtown area and conveniently accessed from the designated “Airport Access Road” exit on Interstate 70. The Airport is unique because it is considered an “island” of the City, as the majority of the Airport property (approximately 3,000 acres) was officially annexed into the City of Dayton during the 1980s.

The Airport has three runways.  Runway 6L-24R is the longest runway at a length of 10,901 ft and width of 150 ft, with asphalt, concrete and grooved surface.   The other runways in order of length are: Runway 18-36 (8,502 ft x 150 ft; asphalt / concrete surface) and Runway 6R-24L (7,285 ft x 150 ft; concrete surface).

The Terminal Building consists of 366,145 square feet of space, with two concourses – A, B.  Concourse A has 12 jet bridges and is used by Air Tran Airways, Southwest Airlines and US Airways. Concourse B has 8 jet bridges and is used by American Airlines, United Airlines and Delta Air Lines.

On the northeast side of the Airport, with convenient access to the airfield, are areas known as “General Aviation Center One” and “General Aviation Center Two.”  General Aviation Center One is home to two full service Fixed Base Operators - Stevens Aviation ( and Wright Brothers Aero (, a Comair Maintenance facility, and five (5) corporate hangars.  Department of Aviation airfield maintenance offices and garage facilities are also located in General Aviation Center One.  General Aviation Center Two is home to one Fixed Based Operator – Aviation Sales, Inc. ( and a corporate hangar.

Dayton Information

The City of Dayton has a population of 166,179 (2000 census data). It is the largest city within Montgomery County, Ohio. The greater Dayton metropolitan area includes several contiguous jurisdictions, including Vandalia, Trotwood, Kettering, Oakwood, Centerville and Beavercreek, with a combined population of 848,153 (2000 census data).

The City of Dayton is renowned for its legacy of innovation. Dayton is one of the country’s leading producers of patents and for history changing inventions including the airplane, automatic icemaker and “pop top” can.  In addition, the creativity in Dayton has touched people’s lives in countless other ways as well, including art, architecture, science and industry.  The City of Dayton was the home of the Wright Brothers, poet Paul Laurence Dunbar, and entrepreneur John H. Patterson.

Dayton also plays a role internationally.  Through Sister Cities International, Dayton supports efforts for business and cultural development in its Sister Cities of Augsburg, Germany; Oiso, Japan; Monrovia, Liberia; Holon, Isreal and Bosnia. In 1995, the agreement for peace in Bosnia and Herzegovina, known as the Dayton Peace Accords, was successfully negotiated at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base to end the conflict in Bosnia.